Flagrant 2 missed in Game 7 according to the NBA

You know that missed call that everyone was talking about at the end of Game 7? The NBA thinks that wasn’t the only thing missed by the referees in the 4th quarter.

The NBA announced today that Bismack Biyombo has been assessed with a Flagrant-2 foul from a play with 11:18 remaining in the 4th quarter. The foul was assessed for hitting Myles Turner in the head or neck area.

Here’s the play, courtesy of Scott Agness

Biyombo ended up playing nearly 6 minutes in the fourth quarter and was hard to handle for the Pacers bigs for stretches of the series. If the flagrant would have been called when it happened in the game, Biyombo would have been ejected.

Perhaps, Biyombo was tired of his entire team and the country of Canada being added to Turner’s blocked list, the Myles High Club.

On Monday, the NBA confirmed in its last two-minute report what everyone who watched the game already knew: DeMar DeRozan fouled Ian Mahinmi on the alley oop pass attempt from Paul George, and the refs missed the call. The official report stated that DeRozan dislodged Mahinmi and affected his ability to catch the alley oop pass.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s